Olink 09-Mar-18
Woods Walker 09-Mar-18
DanaC 09-Mar-18
HDE 10-Mar-18
stjohnh4 10-Mar-18
Backpack Hunter 10-Mar-18
fisherick 11-Mar-18
12-Aug-09
I'm buying a new LED headlamp that comes with different colored filters. I've read that both the red and green filters don't spook deer like the unfiltered white light. Any opinions about this one way or another?

12-Aug-09
Just to be clear, I'm not "hunting" with the light, only get to and from my stand.

12-Aug-09
I would not worry about it too much. The sound and scent are something to consider. I use a standard flashlight when going to and from stand in the dark and just think about scent and attempt to be quiet.

12-Aug-09
I am also interested in this subject. I believe I heard on tv that deer don't see red very well, but I have no personal experience.

12-Aug-09
Went back to white LED. White lights are relatively common at night and if a deer is close enough to spook from your light, then it has likely heard you already. I've encountered deer in fields under the moonlight without using a flashlight and I'll still see deer return to the field by sunup. They don't seem to get as spooked by humans at night.

12-Aug-09
Have messed around with light beams and animals through the years (both wild and domestic) and honestly think, it’s not the color of the lens or beam, but the intensity of the light beam.

A red laser will absolutely drive a Jack Russell Terrier crazy. 6-pack and Jack is some of the cheapest entertainment a man can find…8^) Yet, a low light beam like of that of a flashlight with dying batteries they don’t seem to be able to see, or a least take notice.

I know that is not scientific evidence, but is from a lot of personal experimentation.

13-Aug-09
I heard Blue is the way to go. No personal expierence my self just a freind of mine mentioned it to me. Check it out.

13-Aug-09