nurse121980 29-Jul-12
r-man 29-Jul-12
Chip T. 29-Jul-12
nurse121980 29-Jul-12
CurveBow 30-Jul-12
CurveBow 30-Jul-12
Bigdan 30-Jul-12
29-Jul-12
let me preface my comments by saying that I have been shooting with a peep for 10+ years. started without one and never knew i needed one till my area pro shop told me I did. the last few years i have noticed that I am struggling to see my pins or that they are very blurry. Just had my eyes checked, so I know its not that! :) I have tried several different peeps without relief of this. I do shoot with both eyes open, so I know the pins wont be as clear, but I seem to be having "issues". Am thinking about taking the peep off and giving it a go that way. I use a kisser and the string touches my nose as well, so I think I would have a good anchor....but would like some opinions from the peanut gallery. For what its worth, I only hunt here in Michigan, and my shots are usually less than 30 yards, although I do have one stand that offers the opportunity for longer shots. thanks everyone

craig

29-Jul-12

Both eyes open has no effect on the "clarity" of the pins but the peep, depending on aperture size will restrict the light coming into the eye, dilating the pupil. The image in the peep will not be as bright as the other eye, which sometimes causes eye dominance issues.

When using a front lens, the net effect is a change in depth of field, exactly the same as the aperture on a camera lens. Higher lens power requires smaller peep aperture to clear it up, and the image is darker as a result of less light thru that aperture.

Since you are using pins only, I would imagine you are losing your close vision, as most of us do, and your pins are blurry. The peep itself will only restrict light, it doesn't do anything anything else that would "blur" the pins.

29-Jul-12