bluedog 30-Oct-14
idacurt 31-Oct-14
Narlyhorn 31-Oct-14
AZOnecam 31-Oct-14
Bluetick 31-Oct-14
Narlyhorn 31-Oct-14
BlueDog 31-Oct-14
30-Oct-14
If republicans happen to take control of the senate, guess who gets blamed when things go south?

30-Oct-14
You're right HA, when inflation takes hold, Repubs will be blamed. Both parties are responsible, IMO, as they both abscond their responsibility in favor of monetary policy actions of the Fed and other regional and world central banks. Much too long a rant to post here.

From my view, there is a currently a deflationary bias in the economy not apparent to many consumers. I draw my opinion from my observations of bond, equities, metals and commodity markets. Am I wrong? It's certainly possible as I am not a expert economist but I don't think so.

I believe we'll only see a temporary suspension of overt QE replaced by covert QE through the reverse repo market or some other mechanisms before overt QE begins anew.

I was particularly surprised to read recent comments by Greenspan at the Council of Foreign Relations. Does he feel he can be more truthful now that he is no longer at the helm of the Fed? He stated "bond buying fell short of it's goal", "that bond buying is dead in the water", that efforts to boost it via bond buying "has not worked", it's effect on "boosting asset prices has been a great success", "he doesn't believe it is possible to end the Feds easy money policy in a trouble free manner" or that "now is a good time to put money in gold given it's value as a currency outside the policies conducted by governments." I am certainly interested in watching how sovereigns and the investment community react to his "advice" from a physical supply/demand metric as opposed to the managed paper price.

Ultimately, I don't think the Fed will be able to maintain it's goal of 2% inflation without manipulation of government economic indicators and more Management Of Economic Perspectives (MOPE).