Shuteye 22-Nov-17
Thumper 23-Nov-17
Tiger eye 23-Nov-17
tonyo6302 23-Nov-17
Shuteye 23-Nov-17
Woods Walker 23-Nov-17
Woods Walker 23-Nov-17
22-Nov-17
Yup! No politics whatsoever involved! I'd post this on the general forum but it's concerning a gun kill.

As a lifelong hunter of deer I'm also a student of deer and what/how/when/why about them. The more I learn the better a hunter it makes me. The following incident has been puzzling me since I learned of it. Anyway..........

This past weekend was the first half of the Illinois firearm deer season. I could not make first half due to my workload, but my deer camp buddies went to the farm we hunt. Friday morning my best friend shot one of the best buck's he ever killed. He was using a .12 gauge shotgun loaded with Brenneke slugs.

He shot the deer at about 20-25 yards. It was slightly quartering to him. He held on the front shoulder/chest and the slug broke BOTH front shoulders, went through both lungs and the deer went about 30 more yards, literally pushing itself with it's back legs before it stopped. He waited in the tree for about 15 minutes and then went to the deer. He said it's sides were still slightly moving so he gave it a finishing shot.

Now here's where it get's weird..........when he opened the deer up, THE LUNGS WERE COMPLETELY DESTROYED.

So here's my question. I've shot a lot of deer with both gun and bow. As we all know a deer that's had either an arrow or a bullet/slug pass through both lungs doesn't go very far, and most of the time it's a death run where they literally die in full stride, usually at less than 100 yards. So HOW and WHY did this deer, with both lungs literally blown up, could still be alive a quarter of an hour later?