APauls 25-Feb-18
Treeline 25-Feb-18
TrapperKayak 28-Feb-18
Ucsdryder 28-Feb-18
Ermine 28-Feb-18
Olink 28-Feb-18
TrapperKayak 28-Feb-18
23-Feb-18
Utah application season is winding down. Here's my situation, circumstances and random thoughts:

1. I am a resident and can apply for LE deer OR elk

2. I'm off the elk waiting list finally. I can and will only apply for archery hunts. The two units I want take about 3-6 years to draw but decent odds before that. I like hunting elk more than deer typically. Gambled big time on WY and lost.

3. I have 9 deer points. The unit I want takes 10. With 9 points, my odds are the SAME as an elk tag with ZERO points. I really want a velvet buck. They have kicked my ass for 7+ years.

4. If I go for deer and don't get it, I would be a lock for it next year. That means I'd be 2 years away from starting to apply for LE elk tag again.

5. My out of state go-to elk hunt sold out before the WY results came out. That's where I get my "fix" every year. It sucks. I know the area so well and it's close.

6. If I apply for and stay after elk, I can still hunt velvet bucks....with a 800 hundred of my friends on general units. It's a tough hunt.

7. Deer point creep. Every 2 years point creep goes up by one. IMO, deer points aren't worth much in Utah.

8. I over complicate things.

Sooooo LE deer or elk?

23-Feb-18
Velvet Muley is hard to beat...Especially a big Utah Buck! ;-)

23-Feb-18
Mulies!!! I hunted three states last year for mulies and had the time of my life!! Not once did I regret not chasing elk till November.

23-Feb-18
Mule deer.

23-Feb-18