TD 26-Jun-13
IdyllwildArcher 26-Jun-13
Drahthaar 26-Jun-13
midwest 26-Jun-13
midwest 26-Jun-13
kidwalker 27-Jun-13
tthomas 27-Jun-13
26-Jun-13
Discussion from another post brought up shooting with a mouth tab, so I thought I would start this thread to discuss this very thing. When I had shoulder surgery in the past I never even thought about a mouth tab and went with a crossbow until I healed up. Although I am not sure I could do it (makes my teeth hurt to even think about it), I am very interested in the subject.

I would be interested to see the equipment set up and hear about aiming techniques, etc.

26-Jun-13
I'm just learning since having my rotator cuff surgery, but I can give the hints that I have learned.

1. you are gonna lose 2-3 inches from your draw length. I normally shoot bows 29.5-30 inches, and I'm shooting a 27 inch bow with a tab.

2. Turn the poundage way down for the first few sessions, but once you learn the mechanics behind pushing the bow out with your bow arm, you can be shooting moderate poundage relatively quickly.

3. Hold with your back teeth.

4. Getting the tab set to where you bite in exactly the same spot every time is the same as your anchor point. If you don't do it, accuracy will suffer.

5. I've tried many different materials, but a small dog lease, about 1/2" wide, folded over on itself and hand sewn worked the best for me.

I hope this helps someone..........Don't give up.

26-Jun-13

midwest's Link
Here's a couple of mouth tab options. Bmhuntin's favorite is option #2.

26-Jun-13
That is a very informative link. I do a variation on their option #2. I loop and sew like it is shown, but I loop it around a long "D" loop like everyone uses to attach their release. This allows the bite tab to be oriented correctly without torquing the string.

26-Jun-13