No Mercy 19-Sep-14
Sage of the Sage2 19-Sep-14
Straight Shooter 19-Sep-14
Whip 19-Sep-14
Brotsky 19-Sep-14
smarba 19-Sep-14
Bear Track 19-Sep-14
11-Sep-14
I've been bowhunting for over 25 years now and until this morning I have never lost an animal. I shot a good bull yesterday evening broadside at 30 yards. The shot looked a little high and a little back but like a solid double lung hit. The bull ran downhill but I never heard a crash. I ran down to grab my friends and my pack and give the bull some time. Within a half hour the sky went from clear to rain. Probably two hours passed and it is now dark. I went to the spot where the bull was standing when I shot him and found the broadhead half of the arrow. One blade was dinged and judging by the sound, I figured I hit a rib. A few steps later I found the fletching half of the arrow. Both pieces had nice red blood on them with some hardened bubbles and muscle tissue. I followed tracks for 30 or so yards and the found a few small blood spots. All and all I found 4 blood spots, that's it. We came back in the morning and I tried to follow the tracks but the rain made it very difficult to tell which ones were fresh. All morning and afternoon today, my friends and I have been searching but having no luck. I'm beginning to think it was a single lung hit.

Does anyone have any suggestions on finding this bull that does not involve pure luck. I feel like I am at a dead end, but I am grabbing my wife and my dog tomorrow and we are heading back out. I feel sick to my stomach about this. I never thought I would lose an animal but things are not looking good. Any suggestions on tracking a single lung hit bull?

Thank you, thank you, thank you for any help. Andy

11-Sep-14
I can't help you Andy .... but it is interesting you found BOTH halves.