greenmountain 27-Nov-14
idacurt 27-Nov-14
Z Barebow 27-Nov-14
Bou'bound 27-Nov-14
Jack Harris 28-Nov-14
Jack Harris 12-Dec-14
CAS_HNTR 12-Dec-14
23-Nov-14
Hi. My name is Jack, and I have been paying pro shops to build and fletch my arrows for 30 years. Whenever an arrow needs new fletching, I drop it off. I want to take control of this one simple aspect of my life... I will never shoot mechanical heads, fixed blade forever, and I am only interested in a jig that will get me adequate helical on feathers and vanes, including but not limited to blazers. Right now I am shooting both 4" feathers and blazers, depending on the weather. I shoot VPA heads, probably always will. I have a lot of Cabelas points built up to spend, so they sell Arizona, Bohning, and I think they have the Bitzenberger.

I shoot a right handed bow... Are the jigs specific to right or left helical? I also shoot a QAD ultra drop away, so I don't think left or right really makes much difference..

Oh and I am also slowly getting into trad with my recurve, and that shoots off the shelf (again right handed)...

So - your advice on the best jig for me and the accessories would be most appreciated..

I am pretty much a "keep it simple stupid" kind of guy I am not looking to reinvent the wheel here, but would also be open to some "next level thinking" as well...

Thanks,

Jack

23-Nov-14
Blitz with helical clamp......done

23-Nov-14
I think bitzenburgers are the best jig and clamp combo. compare them to others and you will see.

23-Nov-14
The same as the two guys above me.. eD

23-Nov-14
Get the Zenith upgrade kit to go with the Bitz.

23-Nov-14
What about left or right? Thanks

23-Nov-14
Jack,

Bitzenburger is the way to go. You can buy the jigs for Left Hand, Right Hand or Straight fletching. You can fletch from 2"-5" on a Bitz. It will last you a lifetime.

23-Nov-14
Bitz with a right helical clamp will fletch everything you mentioned. Had mine for years and it's bulletproof.

23-Nov-14