writer 27-Feb-15
ScrubBuck 28-Feb-15
Tracker 28-Feb-15
Tracker 04-Mar-15
Knife2sharp 04-Mar-15
renegade2828 05-Mar-15
longbeard 06-Mar-15
07-Feb-15
I have been using the same three Feather Flex decoys for 20 years. They have done me well but its time to move on. Looking to pick up a hen and jake and trying to decide between a DSD or Avian. Actually like the DSD Jake but hen from Avian. Thoughts from users.

07-Feb-15
Dsd!!!!

07-Feb-15
The DSD and Avian combo works well.

07-Feb-15
DSD is my preference.

07-Feb-15
I have a Dakota jake and it's in a similar pose to the DSD jake. I just looked and the DSD is $150 and Dakota on sale for $115 at Cabelas. The thing I don't like about the Dakota is it takes up so much room in a decoy bag. I really like Avian hens. It's nice to be able to air them up in a flash and deflate them so they are packable. I can carry a couple hens in a small backpack. They also look really nice. I've always heard how great the DSD's are but if they don't deflate and you have to carry them far they may be a pain in the rear for carrying and storing?

07-Feb-15

writer's embedded Photo
writer's embedded Photo
Dead turkeys don't lie...this one was a sucker for a Dakota a few weeks ago.

Any of what you're considering will work fine.

I've had a flock of late winter longbeards thrash that decoy for more than 90 minutes, and had spring birds run 300 or more yards.

Lots of people have done the same with the DSD.

08-Feb-15
I went with the Dakota Jake last season and used Cherokee sports hens when I used hens. Toms always go straight for the jake. The hens might give them extra confidence but serve little purpose once the Tom comes in. A single hen or a couple of hens doesn't have the drawing power of a Jake or strutter but I like the presentation a gobbled gives when coming in to them. all the jumping around they do with a Jake decoy in not present with hens and the Tom inches his way in, slowly and meticulously.