Tajue17 19-Jul-15
r-man 19-Jul-15
Tajue17 20-Jul-15
razorhead 22-Jul-15
deerman406 22-Jul-15
Jack Harris 22-Jul-15
mattandersen 22-Jul-15
18-Apr-15
I've been shooting Muzzy MX 4s for several years and have had great luck with them taking an elk, pronghorn, 3 black bears and about 15 whitetail bucks and does. All, except for the elk have been pass throughs. I am pleased with them except for one thing, they don't seem to cause a great blood trail.

Where I whitetail hunt is pretty thick and all of my deer have died but I've had to find several the next morning because of lack of a good blood trail. Usually, that isn't a big deal but in WV our season is starting in Sept. Instead of the middle of Oct., so now I have temperature to deal with as well as increasing numbers of coyotes so I'd prefer to find deer in the evening instead of the next day. During the early season I don't hunt the mornings because I want to be low-impact around the fields.

So my question is: I hear a lot about slick tricks for elk, how about deer and what type of blood trail do they usually leave considering a well placed lung shot?

Thanks

18-Apr-15
That head will make as good of a blood trail as any. Quantity of blood on the ground is 1. A function of shot placement and 2. A function of the size of the hole. Given proper 1, you broad head is more than fine with 2. Anybody who says differently is all wet.

18-Apr-15