Olink 29-Jun-15
Screwball 29-Jun-15
r-man 29-Jun-15
MW66 30-Jun-15
joshuaf 01-Jul-15
njbuck 01-Jul-15
MW66 01-Jul-15
29-Jun-15
I planted (10) 3 year old grafted trees this spring. They seem to be doing well. They are about 5' tall and are starting to sprout branches off the main trunk. I was told that I could get fruit from them this fall but I should pick off any flowers that I see to prevent fruits this year which will allow the trees to use all their energy towards growing their root system. I have no problem doing this, do you guys agree?

My main problem is while checking on them yesterday, 3 of the 10 had beetles eating the leaves. The other 7 had no issues. They seem to be Japanese beetles but I am no beetle expert. How can I prevent the beetles from continuing to eat the leaves and eventually kill the trees?

Is there any type of fertilizer or "food" that I can/should apply to the trees or ground near them which will help them grow quicker and stronger?

For what it is worth, my soil PH is 5.6, would it help to apply lime to the general area where the trees are planted to bring the PH up?

This is my first attempt at planting fruit trees so any help or advice that you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated.

29-Jun-15
no expert but have the following advice:

put affected leaves with beetles in a sealed plastic bag and take to nursery for id and control recs. your local ag agent/farm advisor may be able to help also.

definitely no fruit for the first few seasons, both to help trees get established, channel growth, and because branches are likely too weak to support fruit. If you don't know when/how to prune get help on this also (start with Dr. Google)

do you have access to composted horse manure? applied as top dressing will help get organic content into soil.

29-Jun-15
I always spread 10-10-10 around my fruit and nut trees. You can pick the flowers/young apples off this year, for the reason you mentioned.