Mark Watkins 17-Jul-15
SteveB 18-Jul-15
SteveB 18-Jul-15
Alpinehunter 19-Jul-15
Mark Watkins 25-Jul-15
TD 26-Jul-15
Landshark Launcher 26-Jul-15
14-Jul-15
I've been renting SAT phones for the past 5-6 years and am now thinking I am going to buy one before my next trip. Most recently (last couple of years) I have rented the Iridium 9555 (from Roadpost) and have been happy with it. It hasn't really changed in that time.

Is there anything that has come out that is lighter, smaller and "better" before I go out there and buy a 9555?

I just got a flip phone last week, so I am not very tech savy.

Mark

14-Jul-15
I saw a sat phone at Cabela's the other day for $499.00 I believe. It was not a whole lot larger than a cell phone. It was on display near the optics section. Sorry I cannot give you more information as I was just browsing.

14-Jul-15
The Iridium 9575 is the latest. Overall it is a little smaller than the 9555 and just a bit lighter at about 8.7 ounces.

14-Jul-15
You already know where I stand! 9575 all the way if you are gonna buy.

14-Jul-15
I have been "swapped out" to many times at the last minute on rentals. I am ready to buy a 9575 and was looking for a vendor. I want to buy only the prepaid cards because I will only need for September each year. Seems like everyone wants to sell you an annual plan. Anyone buy one with prepaid cards that they would recommend?

14-Jul-15
This year I bought the "Northern Lights" Plan...300 minutes in AK and Canada. Other years I've just bought the least expensive use'em or lose'm plans. I've always dealt with Explorer Satellite communications and they've always treated me right.

14-Jul-15
$1300 for the phone equates to a lot of rentals.

14-Jul-15
Where can you rent them and how much? Thanks. Mike

14-Jul-15
I have paid about $400 for a rental in the past. If I buy one it will cost me $200 for airtime. It will take me about 6 years more or less to break even. I plan on living more than 6 years so I am willing to buy.