Mule Power 27-Nov-15
Straight Shooter 27-Nov-15
Rick M 28-Nov-15
Two Feathers 30-Nov-15
Wayniac 02-Dec-15
Bob H in NH 02-Dec-15
APauls 03-Dec-15
24-Nov-15
If it's just about sitting in the stand and staying warm as an observer, there is no difference. If he's hunting and needs to free his arms and take a shot, there is a huge difference. A HBS is made to do that. A sleeping bag is not.

24-Nov-15
I have a couple older military mummy bags - been using them in the stands for better than 30 years - they work great. Been busted couple times, but better than having to go home due to cold. I have poor circulation so I get cold pretty easy.

24-Nov-15
Agree, if you are not worried about making a shot, you could get away with other options that you could pick up for way less $$. I've been using the HBS for 10+ years. Some years I never need to use it, but when I'm not "tagged out" and hunting late season it allows me to stay in the stand all day. Good luck

DJ

24-Nov-15
I do the sleeping bag. I have back-pack style straps sewn in the back, and that does the trick. Yup has cost me an opportunity on rare occasion, but nothing's perfect.

I never go hunting without it if its under 35f., been doing this for maybe 10 years? More? I fergit. With the bag, one layer of light fleece over long johns and I'm GTG down to 15f. Colder than that, an extra layer of wool. Beats freezing and going home by a hundred miles. I'm sure a HBS is even better.

I use a regular rectangular bag, having premium insulation, polar guard 3D. Wind proof cover sewn over the top. Those 2 things are a big deal. I have the head-opening permanently cinched up like a collar, that's gets more important the colder it gets, and when the snow is falling on you.

24-Nov-15

HerdManager's MOBILE embedded Photo
HerdManager's MOBILE embedded Photo