rooni79 07-Feb-16
IdyllwildArcher 07-Feb-16
rooni79 09-Feb-16
x-man 09-Feb-16
Hawkeye 10-Feb-16
rooni79 11-Feb-16
Barty1970 11-Feb-16
30-Dec-15
G'Day guys, I have been shooting a recurve and longbow for 2.5 years now, and I have also had a compound bow for the last 6 months or so. I have just put a new string on it, and am keen to get it shooting as sweet as possible for the fallow rut in April. A little about me and my bow: I am in rural Australia, with the nearest bow shop 3hrs away. I am LEFT HANDED, DL of 29.5, and the bow is a 2012 Hoyt CRX 35 currently set at approx 65#. Arrows are Gold Tip Hunter Expedition Hunters 75/95 .340 spine, cut to 29.5". The rest is a QAD HDX drop away. I have a bowmaster bowpress. I walk back tuned to check my rest set up and it seemed fine as is. I then did a little bare shaft tuning at 15 yards, and the BS was hitting about 9" to the left (indicating weak.). I put a twist in the right yoke and the BS is now hitting 1.5" to the left. What now? Adjust the rest? Or try another yoke twist? Any help would be great, Mark

30-Dec-15
Shoot it through paper and see what kind of tear you get. Bare shaft tuning really amplifies grip imperfections. Once you are good through paper you can move to BS tuning. If you still get poor bs tuning results you can play with your grip to see if that helps.

30-Dec-15
Really pay attention to starting your grip placement exactly where it is when comfortable at full draw. Once you get "consistent" results each shot, then proceed tuning. You seem to be going about it the correct way.

Get good paper tears at 10 feet and 15 feet. Then walk back tune again. Then fine tune with either bare shaft or broad head tuning.

30-Dec-15
If you are getting bare shafts to hit that close with a compound you have a pretty good setup. One thing thou is if your bare shaft is hitting left the shaft would be considered stiff. Right impact is weak.

30-Dec-15

Ermine's embedded Photo
Ermine's embedded Photo