Bob H in NH 20-Sep-16
Play Fair 20-Sep-16
brianhood 20-Sep-16
bb 20-Sep-16
bdfrd24v 21-Sep-16
Bullshooter 22-Sep-16
Candor 22-Sep-16
20-Sep-16
I'm new to hanging lock on stands. I've hunted out of a couple on other ground and wanted to try it at our place. So far I'm not pleased with the results.

Using Millenium M25 stand. Chain on top, strap on bottom

I can not figure out how to get the chain tight on top of the stand. I have the general idea behind it but the execution seems to be the issue. I've read some previous threads about adding a secondary strap for the top and I can do that, but I really would like to get the chain tight and seated properly and then add a strap for overkill only.

Again I'm new to this so any advise is greatly appreciated.

20-Sep-16
I always use a screw in step at the back of the tree on my permanent sets.....the chain goes up and over the step so it does not slide or anything.

20-Sep-16
I use a lone wolf with two straps but the idea would be the same. Put the stand on using the chain with the bottom platform in the upright position. Put weight on the stand bringing it down, THEN fold down the foot platform. This will cinch it tight.

20-Sep-16
The chain doesn't need to be tight, tight. You actually want the chain higher on the tree, than where its attached to the stand. Once its attached, you need to put your weight on the stand, to cinch in the stand cleats. Plus if your chain was tight, you would have a heck of a time getting it off. Especially if it was up very long. Add a ratchet strap if your Leary. BTW we used those stands for 20 years it seems! Not big enough, or sturdy enough for me! We now use either a ladder stand or a climber. Good luck!

20-Sep-16
Ok. Seems like I wasn't putting enough down pressure before opening the platform. I'll try that and get back to you guys.