BOHUNTER09 04-Dec-16
t-roy 04-Dec-16
drycreek 04-Dec-16
canepole 08-Dec-16
DC 08-Dec-16
nutritionist 11-Dec-16
Coolcop 13-Dec-16
04-Dec-16
I have a question for you land managers.   I have been hunting the family farm for 30+ years.  130” bucks are becoming more common with a 3 point on one side rule the DNR implemented.  The larger bucks have rekindled a desire in me to spend more time in the deer woods   The 80 acres I hunt is mostly open on the east side with crops. To the west of the 80 is a 20 acre of cattail swamp (deer heaven).  The west half of the property is hardwoods and pines that gradually slopes down to the swamp. The deer can and do access the swamp from my property as the property line is 100 feet out into the cattails. My grandpa always called it a long 80, meaning the property in a quarter mile wide north to south and a half mile long east to west.   I only hunt the far west end of the property a handful of times once the rut kicks in, and I try to make them all day sits. Some days I see deer all day.   The rest of my hunts are on trails going out to the fields.  These stands are approximately half way between the east and west property line.     My question is.  On the southern edge of the property line approximately 150 yards from the west property line and 100 yards from the cattails there is a small clearing. The clearing is on top of the hill and approximately 150’ by 100’.  I’m thinking about planting inner sanctum in this clearing as it is surrounded by hardwoods.   My concern is all the extra traffic in the area that goes along with planting a food plot may change the deer pattern.  I try to not go back there much during the off season.  I will be able to access my stand from the neighbors to the south so as to not disturb bedded deer by the swamp.  Thoughts please.

04-Dec-16
Activity associated with putting in the food plot should not have more than a temporary effect on deer patterns. Probably no effect at all.

04-Dec-16