wildwilderness 07-Apr-18
LKH 07-Apr-18
Frank Sanders 07-Apr-18
Mudslinger 07-Apr-18
ADUBS 17-Apr-18
Frank Sanders 17-Apr-18
Treeline 17-Apr-18
02-Apr-18
If things don't change again and a bunch of high point holders don't cash in, I should draw a tag this year. Just curious about what guys who hunted it would/wouldn't do, timing, etc. I'm a little limited as I drew a few goat hunters here in Alaska, but I am going with an outfitter. Thanks for any feedback

02-Apr-18
There's a lot of discussion on here about 40 and much of it centers around how little public there is. I've never killed a bull with a bullet and am working on going with a unit 40 outfitter in 2020, 2019 if he gets an opening. Will be my first ever outfitted trip.

02-Apr-18
How many points are you going into the draw with, Frank?

02-Apr-18

02-Apr-18
Frank, you will be right on the edge to draw archery and the only rifle you might have a chance at is 4th. There are permits for sale (landowner) but I have no knowledge of that process.

03-Apr-18
Mike Lawson with Trophy Class Outfitters. Even if a guy has a hard time swinging it this year, wait until next year to get the most out of your coveted tag. Good luck!

03-Apr-18
Good luck Frank! As good of a unit as they get! Hopefully we can meet up there this year

03-Apr-18
Mike is who I'm hunting with, heard a lot of good things about him

03-Apr-18
Just looked at his web site. Try talking him into better pics, his trophy photos are a notch or two below junior varsity.

03-Apr-18
Mike has decent bulls on the property but they aren't always there. (He doesn't have the acreage the big ranches do) The herd moves like all elk do, and can have down days. With only a week to hunt I wouldn't be too picky.

04-Apr-18
I'd hunt 40 in a heartbeat! Was in Junction long enough to see some of the bulls that came out of there. Love the Western Slope!

05-Apr-18