britfan 23-Oct-12
britfan 23-Oct-12
Triple 3 24-Oct-12
Triple 3 24-Oct-12
Big John 24-Oct-12
Swamp Buck 06-Dec-12
city hunter 06-Dec-12
30-Sep-12
Ok I've been using a popup pickup camper for a base camp for a couple years now. Nice bed, stove, refrigerator, and I love poking my arm out of the sleeping bag and turning up the thermostat at 4:30 a.m.

The only downside is it's size. It's perfect when I hunt by myself. With two people it a little crowded. Technically it could sleep three. However it would be big hassle eating, getting around in the a.m. getting ready for bed etc.

My son and grandson are 8 and are both showing interest in hunting. I'm seriously considering trading up to a wall tent.

Could you guys please humor my idea with a couple of questions.

I guess I'll start with what size is a good for 1 to 4 people/cots, and a stove? What brand in the best quality tent?

Oh and I have thought about a bigger camper but it's pretty tight where we go with a popup camper. I dont think I could make it with a camper trailer or bigger pickup camper.

30-Sep-12

Bowboy's Link
I'd take a look at Davis Tents. Their awesome folks to deal with. Size wise I'd say 12 x 18 or 14 x 16. That will give you plenty of room for 3 to 4 people. Also I'd recommend getting the internal pole system. Once you get one set it up a few times in your yard so you become familiar with setting it up.

I bought a wall tent back in 1986 and still use it. If you take care of it and don't store it wet it will last a life time. Also you can take them places a lot of trailers and campers equipped rigs can't go.

30-Sep-12