Hunts_with_stick 28-Oct-13
Caddisflinger 30-Oct-13
weekender21 30-Oct-13
brettpsu 30-Oct-13
JLS 30-Oct-13
26-Oct-13

Florida Mike's embedded Photo
I recently did a 2 part DIY sheep hunt. I didn't kill one so if your looking for hero shots check another thread. I think some guys may get hope from my story so that's the main reason I'm writing this. It hurts to re-live it but it was an adventure!

I was notified 2 years ago(that's right) that I was drawn to hunt sheep in Idaho. It was my first time to hunt sheep! I was ecstatic! I started training with my daughter and noticed my chest hurt when I'd get my heart rate up. Had a regular check up and was referred to a heart doctor that promptly installed 2 heart stints in the "widow maker" artery! EVERYBODY told me to give the tag back! But me being the hardhead I am I kept it. A month later the unit caught fire from a lighning strike and the GOV closed it down. Idaho offered me a "rain check" for next year and I took it.

I continued to train but I also have feet issues so my training was minimal. I really thought this was gonna be brutal since I couldn't train much.

Anyway here is some pics.

26-Oct-13
Was this a failed gun or bow hunt? Unsuccessful might have been a better choice of words.

26-Oct-13

I'm 52 BTW. So if some of you guys think you can't hunt sheep just read my story and maybe you'll change your mind. I hooked up with a guy that had hunted the unit before and was successful and he offered to help so I thought my chances just got better! He couldn't hunt the first week so we met the second week of the season and got to it.

26-Oct-13

So things were looking good on the second day when these hitchhikers wouldn't get out of the road. This particular unit has a gravel road that goes 30 miles through the unit so you can glass a huge area.

26-Oct-13

End of the day!

26-Oct-13