Mike Turner 06-Feb-12
Gene 07-Feb-12
Gene 07-Feb-12
Hungry Horse 03-Sep-13
W.P. Archer 03-Sep-13
JordanMOFL 03-Sep-13
31-Jan-12
Photobucket

This past year (2011), for the first time in 16 years, I did not have an archery tag in my home state of Wyoming. With time limited due to my profession as a teacher, and numerous portrait engagements from my second career as a photographer, I only made a half-hearted attempt to hunt a local general unit with an archery stamp. After one weekend of terrible weather, I decided to spend the weekend of September 25-27 in the mountains where I knew I could find elk. I took two personal days (I only get one free) to extend the weekend to 4 days, loaded up the truck and trailer and set out to find elk and photograph the rut in ways I had never had the opportunity before.

This hunt was identical to any other hunt I've been on, with early mornings and late evenings providing the most interaction with animals. The biggest difference involved packing my 20# camera/lens/tripod setup over one shoulder for miles rather then my 3.5# bow. It was quite uncomfortable after 4 days of it, but the images were well worth it.

Obviously, there will be no kill photo here, just a celebration of elk, elk country and the rut. I won't narrate much. I'll let the photos do most of the talking. Enjoy!

I found this first bull in a sweeping river valley with which I am very familiar. He bugled constantly and really wasn't very big, but no other bulls made an appearance or even a sound.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Well that should fire some of you up! I'll be back after a couple meetings and my last class!

31-Jan-12
I look at many more of these and I'm gonna have to either pack the truck for a hunting trip or take a cold shower.

31-Jan-12

elkmtngear's Link
Awesome, Tim! Your "Trophy" as a memorial of this hunt goes worlds beyond a stuffed head.

Best of Luck, Jeff

31-Jan-12