Medicinemann 04-Sep-14
glass eye 04-Sep-14
huntnfish808 05-Sep-14
Full_Curl 09-Sep-14
Tilzbow 10-Sep-14
beekeeper 10-Sep-14
At 10-Sep-14
03-Sep-14
Wondering what you guys with a lot of experience traveling for hunts would recommend for a large luggage bag to hold a split set of Alberta moose antlers for airline travel?

Obviously I’d like to over-estimate so let’s say a 55 to 60 inch bull on the very top end. If successful, I’m planning on splitting the skull plate, taping both halves together, adding some padding to the points, and then packing in a large duffle type or similar bag with a bunch of clothing for extra padding and then checking as checked luggage.

Any brand, type, or size of bag suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

03-Sep-14
Why not just wrap them in a tarp and tie it with rope/cord? That is how the Inuit's do it with Muskox hide and horns and airlines have not problem with it.

03-Sep-14
I leave in a few days for caribou, first time so I'm no expert. We are taking bubble wrap and duct tape to pack them.

03-Sep-14
I always take 4" pieces of garden hose to put over the points. push them on as far as possible the fold the end over and duct tape them on.

03-Sep-14
seems like you could take those water noodles and split them and put them over the points and duct tape them on.. I am going next september so i will be talking to my outfitter soon about this

04-Sep-14
Thanks guys. I like the tarp or bubble wrap and duct tape idea, but don't want to have any issues at the airport check in as I will be on my own. If the antlers get denied I don't know what plan B would be. I was thinking the duffle bag would have less of a chance of running into issues.

04-Sep-14
PM sent....

04-Sep-14
I plan ptarmigan hunting with a 20 ga. and using the spent shells to cover the antler tips. Do you think the smell of gunpowder would raise any red flags ?

05-Sep-14