DonVathome 29-Feb-16
Mike Lawrence 29-Feb-16
Florida Mike 29-Feb-16
Beendare 29-Feb-16
Ambush 29-Feb-16
Buffalo1 29-Feb-16
Nick Muche 29-Feb-16
27-Feb-16
I am looking at a remote solo trip in AK going around 30 miles up a shallow river. I would have 16' boat with 40 hp jet.

I have been whitewater rafting many times, fishing in a boat a lot, water skied a few times, canoeing etc.

I have a lot of common sense and over the past 10 years I have been "paying attention" to hydraulics, water movement etc.

I have never operated a jetboat. I have mechanical sense and I am an engineer so I am good at figuring things out.

I am a strong swimmer, in great shape and will have a plb and sat phone just in case.

My concern is do I have enough experience to take this type of boat up a shallow river?

27-Feb-16
Is the name of that waterway "sh*t creek" and do you have a paddle ?

27-Feb-16
To be determined later.

;>D

Hope you have a great trip! I apologize for adding nothing beneficial to your thread. My wife may be right about me.

27-Feb-16
Don, you were doing real good until you mentioned you were an engineer. Hope your one of those good engineers. Just kidding. I would say go for it. Be safe and don't take an unnecessary chance.

27-Feb-16
All engineers need to learn that things are not solved on a piece of paper. When one hands me a drawing I say yep... looks good, theoretically. Now for reality.

If you are heading upstream life is a little better than if you were going down. Going down you are at the mercy of the current when it comes to sweepers.

A jet handles differently than a prop but you'll get the hang of that pretty quick. Make sure you have a screwdriver and are wearing your hips. That way when you suck a bunch of gravel into the intake you can quickly hop out and dig it out and be on your way.... 20 times a day.

27-Feb-16
Don't see a problem, just take it slow. Watch out for clogging up the motor with rocks or?make sure you have your tools and have fun.