Gunny 13-Feb-10
Cheque 13-Feb-10
nontypical3 13-Feb-10
nontypical3 13-Feb-10
nontypical3 13-Feb-10
fullstrutter 20-Jan-12
Rayzor 20-Jan-12
08-Feb-10
Just agreed to do a hog skull for a guy. I just do euro mounts kind of as a hobby. I bought some dermestid beetles a couple months ago and have a colony working now. Anyway, I've never done a hog before, only whitetails and small game. Is there anything I should know before I start? Are they harder to do? Do they need to be degreased more than a deer?

thanks, jakedrew

08-Feb-10
Yip, you will find that the skull contains more oil than a whitetail, but less than a bear. Good luck and just let er soak a bit longer.

09-Feb-10
How are the beatles working out.

09-Feb-10
Cheque, The hogs contain a good amount of grease in both their jaws and upper part of the skull. After the beetles clean it up, boil with some very good degreasing liquid deterent. Don't boil real hot or it will damage the skull after a while. What I like to do it pull the cutters and tops out of the skull so that they do not get brittle during the boiling process. Also when you are bleaching the skull without the teeth in, having the stain color on the teeth I feel make it look a lot better, but will be a dead give away if you pull the teeth to make them look longer than what they were. Bob

09-Feb-10
I have a buddy who had the skull cleaned and degreased, then pulled the teeth, then had the skull dipped in pewter, then put the teeth back in. It looks awesome with the contrasting white teeth.

09-Feb-10
SDHNTR, that skull you're referring to sounds really cool - would it be possible to post a picture of it...?

09-Feb-10

SDHNTR's embedded Photo
SDHNTR's embedded Photo
Here you go. Also a bronzed one there too.

09-Feb-10
Thank you, that pewter one is awesome.

09-Feb-10
Now thats a pretty wicked looking skull!

coke13 - The beetles are working out ok. They're not reproducing as fast as I had hoped but the colony is slowly growing.