bghunter 17-Aug-13
Lucas 17-Aug-13
drycreek 17-Aug-13
Firehuntfish 18-Aug-13
PAstringking 18-Aug-13
ExtremeZ7 23-Nov-13
Firehuntfish 23-Nov-13
14-Aug-13
Local business tycoon just returned from South Africa with a gorgeous, big, black-maned lion.

OK, Africa experts is there much free-range lion hunting in South Africa? What are the manes usually like on the truly free-range lions in South Africa?

Just curious is the stories I've heard from the guy are legit.

Thanks

14-Aug-13
PM sent.

14-Aug-13
I don't know about the manes, but to my knowledge most all South Afrrican lion hunts are high fence, and canned to some degree. I have no knowledge of this particular hunt or hunter. It is my understanding though that most all lions in South Africa are hunted on ranches, not truly wild.

For truly wild free ranging lions you need to go to Tanzania or the like. That is my 2 cents, and not necessarily the concrete facts.

--Jim

14-Aug-13
I believe that Jim said it well. I do not know of any free range lion hunts in South Africa.

I did just shoot a lioness in South Africa a month ago. It was not free range. It was also not easy. In any event, I have seen people present their hunts as one that came over from Botswana.

I am highly suspicious. I believe you could find someone to tell you a nice story if you asked around enough.

14-Aug-13
Pat got a gorgeous lion in South Africa about 8 years ago and it is on one of the live hunts in the archive. There is videos the kill. Pretty intense deal as he stalked in on that thing

14-Aug-13

Bou'bound's Link
Link to Pats lion. I thought there was kill shot video in there at one point but for the life of me can't find it now.

17-Aug-13
There are no free range lions in South Africa. Lions are pen raised until they released to the hunting area maybe 2 days or 2 months before the hunter comes. Lions are used to human presence.