redbeard 26-Jul-08
Gampaw 26-Jul-08
Browtine 26-Jul-08
coelkbowhunter 26-Jul-08
Skip 26-Jul-08
24-Jul-08

redbeard's embedded Photo
redbeard's embedded Photo
I just had surgery to repair my broken left collar bone. I am right handed. The Dr. says no using the arm at all for 6 weeks but it should be healed in 8. The problem is that AZ archery deer starts in 4 weeks and a I drew a unit 8 AZ archery bull tag that opens in 7 weeks. I'm looking for info on alternative methods of shooting a bow. Crossbows and drawlocks are out. I know Dwight Schuh used a mouth tab for a hunt some time ago. I'd like to talk with him if anybody knows how to contact him. Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks, Chris

Here's the before picture.

24-Jul-08
If it were me and I am NOT a doctor, but I did stay at a holidy inn last week...

I would let it heal for a couple weeks, and then pull out the bow and go to the LOWEST poundage I felt comfortable hunting with and pull back and see what happens. Depending on your draw length you could probably get down into the 45-55lb range and be OK. Just trust your body, if you can't do it, you can't do it. There are a lot of bows out there that will shoot at 45lbs what bows 5 years ago shot at 65lbs, so I think you will be ok.

25-Jul-08
I didn't stay in a Holiday Inn last week and I am not a doctor, but my daughter is an xray tech and she looked at the film. She suggested that the twang you notice the first time you shoot your bow will be the pain of knowing your doctor was right! The thump you hear on that first shot will be your knees hitting the ground.