LocDoc 30-Dec-08
SteveB 30-Dec-08
fuzzy 31-Dec-08
Man of Stihl 31-Dec-08
CJ Gregory 31-Dec-08
tobywon 31-Dec-08
Jeeper 07-Jan-09
29-Dec-08
I purchased a used recurve and the previous owner installed a customized old metal sight with pins. I shot it a few times and it made too much noise for me. I am relatively new to trad equipment and have been practicing with this bow instinctively, but was wondering if anyone shoots or hunts with trad equipment with sights?

29-Dec-08
TW, Although I have never hunted with a sight on my trad bows, occasionally I'll put on an old pin sight, like you describe, to check my form for bad habits. I would'nt rule out hunting with it. Nothing wrong at all with that. Very popular in the 60's, and 70's. Have fun, bwhntr

29-Dec-08
I tried shooting with a sight on my recurve, I didn't like it. I had to hold at full draw to long to get on target.I shoot much better with a bare bow,you just have to practice alot.Besides the whole reason to go traditional is to get rid of all that junk.

29-Dec-08
I hunted for years with my Black Widow bare-bow. I shot it very well, practiced about 6 months before the season and only wounded game. I put on a sight & a peep and killed a buck with it the first time I shot at game. I have retired it to foam & paper animals since, although I do love shooting it. A compound with sights is my huntig bow now; like it was before the Widow.... Instinctive didn't work for me in the crunch time moment.....

>>>>>---------------->

29-Dec-08
A long time ago before wheels I had a stickbow I put a pin sight on. It didn't last long.

30-Dec-08
I shoot a single-pin on my metal-riser recurve..... I have to say I am much more accurate with the sight....

30-Dec-08

JM's embedded Photo
JM's embedded Photo