pirogue 02-May-11
noroads 02-May-11
Bowfreak 02-May-11
Bowfreak 02-May-11
x-man 02-May-11
Bowfreak 02-May-11
x-man 02-May-11
01-May-11
I'm looking to get your opinions on these two arrows for those that have shot both. I have shot the FMJs but not the new nano carbon FMJs and I have no experience with the VAPs.

So what is your experience with them and which do you prefer? How's the penetration, durability compare?

I've read where the out-serts on the VAPs are prone to bending? Has anyone experienced this? Just looking to get some opinions of real world experience between the two arrows. Main use is for elk hunting.

Thanks

01-May-11
I was running after a deer last year in the snow and fell down. I didn't relies it then but I bent everyone of my FMJ. If I would of been elk hunting in the back country the hunt would of been over. I switched back to carbon arrows.

01-May-11
Not at all a fan of FMJs. I myself am planning on switching to vaps. Awesome penetration and excellent foc from these arrows.

02-May-11
The fact that the FMJs can bend is one of the reasons I'm looking at the VAPs even though I hunted with them last year and never actually bent an arrow. I also like the high FOC that can be achieved with the VAPs and if they penetrate like or even better than the FMJs that could be what I'm looking for. I have yet to find a comparison between the two so far.

Any one else have experience with both??

Thanks

02-May-11
I shoot vaps with the 43 grain penetrater point, evil penetration, and not to mention consistent spine, weight tolerance per dozen ,and excellent straightness tolerance. They get an A +

02-May-11
Check out the Harvest Time Archery's HT-1. There about the same as the VAP's but a little cheaper and from what I've heard, and HTA's quality control is top notch.