Chris Roe 07-Jun-11
trophyhill 07-Jun-11
SDHNTR 07-Jun-11
GregE 07-Jun-11
spyder24 09-Jun-11
elkdude07 09-Jun-11
BUGLELK 10-Jun-11
06-Jun-11
I am looking for some simple, “idiot proof” cow calls.

I have a guided elk hunt next September, and I want to be able to do some cow calling just in case.

Couple of years ago I went to another Elk hunt, and I bought the DVD series from Elknut, wich I still have and I am studying them all over again, so after spending a couples of month practicing with several diaphragms calls, I almost got kicked out of my house, my sons knew exactly the differences between a cow mew and a lost cow call, etc. But when the moment of truth arrived in the mountain, and I wanted to do some soft cow call to attract the bugling bull that the guide had called in, but was away from me, I got some sort of buck fever or better said call panic and the sounds that came of my diaphragm call sounded more like and extraterrestrial alien than nothing else.

So this time I want to have some type of call like the “hootchie Mama”, but that does not such a bad reputation…

Which one would you recommend?

06-Jun-11
the bite call from screery is pretty fool proof, I ought to know been using it for years,

06-Jun-11

GRoe's Link
That's too bad about the calling under pressure incident. Just to warn you, the "hootchie mama" is a good call, but it too can make some interesting sounds...especially if you are anxious. You still have to keep your composure. It's a good call to have at your side...but not "idiot" proof. Grab a hootchie, but stick with the diaphragm calls as well.

Have confidence...

Good luck GR Heads Up Decoy

06-Jun-11