Ridge Ghost 20-Mar-14
Ermine 20-Mar-14
BUGLELK 20-Mar-14
boschman158 21-Mar-14
SwiftShot 21-Mar-14
Flatbow 22-Mar-14
Call'em N 23-Mar-14
18-Mar-14
I am looking for a lightweight spotting scope to use on backpack hunts. I am looking to spend between $500 and $750. What do you guys with experience suggest?

18-Mar-14
No experience YET. I am the same point and have settled on the Vortex Razor 11-33X50. Should have it in few weeks.

18-Mar-14
In that price range I would recommend a Vortex Razor 11-33x50. I picked one up this year and really like it. It is small and light, and has great quality glass. Retail is right around $700.

18-Mar-14
I'm looking for one as well, and have been recommended the Vortex Razor 65mm HD. Everyone I have talked to said it was a large step up from the 50mm, and a nice compromise with the 80mm. I have no experience with any of them.

18-Mar-14
I have the Nikon ED50 (13-30) eyepiece. I like it for backpacking but for scouting I'm going to buy the Vortex Razor 65mm HD hopefully soon.

18-Mar-14
I own the Nikon ed 50 also, I dont think you can get much lighter for packing. I am planning on adding a razor hd 65mm though but that one is slightly out of your price range. Kinda depends on what you need it for also. The ed 50 works great for letting you size up a buck or bull to tell you if you want a closer look but if I am judging a 9" billy from a 9.5" or counting rings on a sheep at a good distance I would go with some more magnification.

18-Mar-14
Question, Would a "doubler" on a 10X binos be a good compromise? I have a Swarrow 20X-60 65mm angled model. It seems heavy awkward to pack. Have be reluctant to tote the thing very far. Anyone use the Doubler?

Thanks everyone LaGriz

18-Mar-14
I'm gonna spring for the small vortex....it looks just right for back pack hunts

18-Mar-14
Griz, doublers don't work very well in my mind. I always end up lugging my 80mm Swaro everywhere i go. Heavy but worth it in my mind.

18-Mar-14