LINK 31-Mar-14
Chip T. 31-Mar-14
Russ Koon 31-Mar-14
Beendare 31-Mar-14
AZBUGLER 31-Mar-14
SDHNTR(home) 31-Mar-14
PowellSixO 31-Mar-14
31-Mar-14
I was lucky enough to draw an Arizona September archery bull elk tag this year. I'm new to archery elk hunting and wanted to start the process now, so that I can be ready for the hunt. I'm wanting to ask everyones opinion on what arrows, and broadheads everyone prefers? So far I've had friends recommend easton fmj arrows, and hunter pro gold tips. Both seem to have good reviews, but I'm still lost on which exact arrow to get (weight, spine, knock, fletchings and what not). I've also had my friends recommend VPA COC broadheads. I've had 2 blade and 3 blade, vented and none vented, 100 gr and 125 gr broadheads recommended. I know that the 2 blade are supposed to penetrate more than a 3 blade, but which broadhead will fly better? As of now I'm leaning toward the VPA 125gr 3 blade vented broadhead. But I would really appreciate any help or info you guys that have hunted bull elk before could give me. Thanks!

31-Mar-14
I use gold tip pro hunters with a Magnus stinger buzz cut four blade but have yet to actually stick it in an elk. They do a very good job in my quiver. :) I like the VPA's but I think any quality coc head would be fine. Try to keep you arrow over 400 grains. Best of luck on your hunt.

31-Mar-14
Thanks Link. Are you shooting the 2 blade or 4 blade buzz cuts? How do they fly? I've heard good things about the Mangus broadheads too. I like the idea of the VPA's just because theres nothing to adjust, which would eliminate any possible dummy (Me) errors. Haha.

31-Mar-14
It all depends on your set up. How many pounds are you pulling, what is your draw length? What bow?

What may work for one set up may not for another. Getting the spine right is the most important part. You will not get good results with even the best equipment if the spine is wrong.