ki-ke 12-Jul-14
mrelite 12-Jul-14
KYELKAHOLIC 13-Jul-14
Bronc@work 14-Jul-14
KYELKAHOLIC 14-Jul-14
Ca_bow_huntr 16-Jul-14
arctichill 16-Jul-14
27-Jun-14
I am a CA resident who drew a New Mexico gmu16b archery tag for sept11-18. Was wondering if anyone could help with some basic info. I was wondering how the unit has been affected by all the wildfire. I could trade someone some info on nm gmu2 elk, I have killed bulls there with a bow the last two years.

Thanks for any help you might have!

28-Jun-14
Tons of info on 16B throughout the years. Search it and you will find some good stuff and helpful posters.

11-Jul-14
yes there was lots of it burned last year and year before. This year that burn area will be good. Key to this unit is backcountry access,look into a drop camp if you cant do fully guided hunt unless you have mules or horses. Rains are pretty decent so far,its raining today there. good luck

12-Jul-14
I killed my first elk with a bow in unit 16b at 15 years old. Hopefully I'll kill another this fall...19 years after the first. There are elk all over the unit so I wouldn't worry too much about getting tips on "where to go". There are big bulls all across the unit. Also, it's a huge unit with a moderate number of tags. You shouldn't have any trouble getting away from other hunters if that's a concern. As you surely know, the unit is mosly wilderness so if you want a short pack trip hunt close to the few roads that exist (contrary to popular belief, there are ek near roads). If you want a true backcountry wilderness hunt...congratulations you have the perfect tag! If backcountry is what you're after, then you already know it's hard work. With that said, here's my advice: