1Rudeman 06-Aug-14
Ziek 06-Aug-14
smarba 06-Aug-14
Ziek 06-Aug-14
bowriter 06-Aug-14
PowellSixO 06-Aug-14
patience2spare 07-Aug-14
05-Aug-14
I've got an elk hunt coming up this September, and I'm very new to archery elk hunting. The rut is very new to me, and I've only experienced it during October rifle cow hunts. Anyways, I've been scouting my unit every other weekend for the last 3 months trying to prepare myself as much as possible. I've also been talking to anyone that will listen about ideas, tactics, strategies, and so on. I was talking to a buddy the other day about my hunt and got some interesting information. He gave me some information that I know to be true, because I can back it up with what I've found in the unit so far. Also he is a very accomplished archery hunter with multiple elk and deer kills under his belt. However, he was telling me about elk pits the other day which threw me for a loop. He said that the elk in this one area, come down for a certain hill, and fight in these pits. He showed me the pits in person, and they almost look like crop circles. Lol. They are perfectly round, and have nothing growing in them. They have no elk tracks in them right now, and really do appear to be caused by elk fighting. The center of the pits is a little bit lower than the outer part of the pits, and dirt piled up around the edges. He said that every year just as the rut kicks off the bulls will come down and fight in these pits for a day or two. There are only two pits by the way. Another thing to mention, is that he has been hunting this unit for over 18 years. I've looked, I've read, and searched high and low for information on elk behaving like this. I can't find anything, so I figured I would ask. Does this really happen or am I getting my leg pulled? Sorry if this is the dumbest thread of the year, but I really am intrigued now. Thanks again.

05-Aug-14