jstephens61 18-Sep-14
Bernie1 18-Sep-14
Bernie1 18-Sep-14
Bernie1 18-Sep-14
R. Hale 18-Sep-14
WV Mountaineer 18-Sep-14
Korey Wolfe 18-Sep-14
18-Sep-14
I’m leaving for my Elk hunt today. Last night I wanted to shoot one last round of various shots from 20 to 80 yards. Just like I had been doing for the past 3 months Every Day to prepare! I even went through my entire setup last two weekends making sure everything was perfect.

To my utter amazement my shot was 6 inches low at 50 yards. I’ll spare you the 3 hours of frustration of me inspecting my bow looking for anything that could have been loose, bumped whatever. I did end up adding one twist to my control cable because my cam on my Hoyt vector 32 was very slightly out of time. That was the only thing I could find.

I ended up needing to move my sight 5/16 of an inch down to bring my arrows up back on the target. I’m racking my brain thinking what I could have done to screw up so bad...Did I just psyche myself out... Was it my last workout and tired muscles...?

Anyone else ever have this?

Noting like being confident in your set up before a hunt!!!!! SWEET!!!!

18-Sep-14
Best of luck to you and the critters you shoot at, if they are 50 yards and farther. It sounds to me like if it was only at 50 yards, and not farther, it was a mental thing. When one gets anxious about their weapon, they tend to break down in form to see the arrow. Especially when tired. If it were a tuning problem, you would have noticed it beyond 50 yards, and quite likely closer. This is assuming you have done as you say and have been practicing a lot.

This is just my experience too. But, if your pins require widening at 50 yards to hit point of impact, your arrow is too light. I personally never saw that effect. But, I shot 500 plus grain arrows and minimum 70 pounds. Good luck and God Bless

18-Sep-14
You are just going to have to bring us back a story Bernie. You've been too good to us lately. Where are you going?