DonVathome 20-Sep-15
WV Mountaineer 20-Sep-15
tobinsghost 20-Sep-15
Surfbow 21-Sep-15
CurveBow 21-Sep-15
Brotsky 21-Sep-15
Tracker12 21-Sep-15
23-Sep-14
This will be a long story with plenty of pictures along the way. This trip all started when I graduated college back in the spring of 2013. My parents told me before I started college that if I graduated on time and with honors I could pick a trip that I wanted to go on. I told Dad more than anything I wanted to do was a backcountry Elk hunt. However, immediately after graduation the fall of 2013 was counted out because I fell into a job opportunity that I couldn't turn down. So the trip had to be delayed until the fall of 2014. After much research and homework Dad and I settled on putting in for the New Mexico draw and trying our odds. We both drew first season archery tags in April. Dad and I are were both physically fit before, but from April until September we started training extensively with the Elk Hunt in mind. Our schedule on a weekly basis would be running 4-5 days a week of an average of 3-6 miles and then pack training 2 days a week. Along with the training we were shooting our bows out to 60 yards almost on a nightly basis.

It seemed as though the summer was flying by as I kept a countdown going on a daily basis. Before you knew it was the middle of August and we were laying out all of our gear to make sure we had everything we needed. We took off for New Mexico from West Virginia on September 4th. We planned to drive the 24 1/2 hours straight through the night after we both worked a full day.

23-Sep-14

switchback229's embedded Photo
We left the house at about 5:30 and were off on our adventure. The sun was in our eyes heading West but it offered up an incredible sunset.

23-Sep-14
Keep it coming!

23-Sep-14