Jaquomo 19-Dec-14
Rockbass 19-Dec-14
Gun 20-Dec-14
Carnivore 20-Dec-14
BB 20-Dec-14
16-Dec-14

bowcrazy's embedded Photo
bowcrazy's embedded Photo
I am fairly new to elk hunting and last fall I successfully shot a bull at dark. I found him the next morning at almost the exact same time as a black bear, which I immediately scared off (so I thought).

For the approximate 90 min - 2 hours it took me to solo break down and hang the elk, I was constantly chasing off this bear. I mean every time I looked up, there he was - so I would chase him off, only to look up again minutes later and he had returned from a different direction. Many times he was only 18-20 yards away - basically 3 quick bear bounces.

Needless to say, I was very nervous as I was solo, but I wasn't overly concerned as I've been told black bears are big sissies. Which he more or less was, as he could have killed me numerous times.

Question: Next year, this situation could happen again, but it could be I find the elk at dark and need to quarter it in the dark. Having had this encounter, I will be extremely nervous/petrified as I will not be able to see 20 yards at night. Plus the bear was so quiet, I never heard him.

What suggestions are there to ease my concerns? Carrying spray wouldn't ease my mind as the bear would be on me before I saw it in the dark. Do I even need to fear black bears?? If yes, how do you solo quarter/hang elk in the dark without concerns? I am hoping to hear that black bears are definitely sissies and I should not be concerned

I appreciate your input.

16-Dec-14
Wish I could tell you not to worry. Black bears attack more people than grizzlies,mostly because there are more of them. Air horns work really well to scare them off.Used them to scare off bears while fly fishing salmon. I carry a big pistol in case they get too close though. Stay alert and good luck!

16-Dec-14
Buy a bear tag. You will not see any bear that way. And if you do, shoot it. I would be nervous too!

16-Dec-14