Contributors to this thread:
Mad_Angler 15-Jun-15
bowcrazyJRHCO 15-Jun-15
wildwilderness 15-Jun-15
Mad_Angler 15-Jun-15
Elksong 15-Jun-15
Treeline 15-Jun-15
15-Jun-15
I am the absolute beginner. I have never even seen an elk.

I was listening to Pat's interview with BigDan. BigDan said that the first thing that he would do to learn an area was ask the bowsite. So here I am...

First, I started with startmyhunt. I filled out his questionaire. It gave me the top 50 GMUs. I pared that list down to 43 or 47.

I don't expect honey holes or GPS coordinates. But I do need general advice.

First, I think we'll set up a basecamp near the truck and hike from there. Is that a reasonable option for this unit?

What is the hunting pressure like? What can I do to minimize that pressure?

What sort of fitness is required? My real hunt is Sept 2016. But I might go Sept 2015 to start to learn the ropes. I'm 49 years old and in okay shape. I hope to be in much better shape by Sept 2016.

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

15-Jun-15
Mad, I still consider myself a rookie, having found some success thanks to bowsiters. Here are my suggestions-1. Buy Elk101 Elk University. 2. Buy call videos from elknut 3. startmyhunt has very good maps, buy a more detailed version of the unit you select.

Finally, get in the best shape of your life and give yourself a min of 7 days. However, if you have less than 7 days, still go.

15-Jun-15
Good optics are important. Get the best binos you can afford (I like Swaro 10x42 EL). That is how you will see your first elk.

Between 43 and 47 I would take 43.

15-Jun-15
Wild. .. why 43 over 47?

I'm not questioning. I'm trying to learn what to look for.

15-Jun-15