MT 23-Jul-15
Paul@thefort 24-Jul-15
montanaelk31 24-Jul-15
TD 24-Jul-15
Saxton 24-Jul-15
rgwaldron 10-Aug-15
Cheesehead Mike 10-Aug-15
22-Jul-15
I'm just learning bugle. Right now, I sound a bit like a cat being run over by a truck.

I found a few youtube videos to help get started. Do folks have any favorite tools to help learn? How about a CD to help learn in my truck?

I assume some diaphragms are easier than others. What would folks recommend?

22-Jul-15
1). Find one that fits comfortably in your mouth.

2). Regardless of which brand/ style you choose, get a single reed. It's the easiest to use. Once you become proficient with it, you can then experiment with double and/or triple reeds

3). Most beginners make the mistake of blowing too hard at the beginning of the bugle. Start out with light air pressure, THEN increase as you progress to the highest note, then once again lighten the air pressure. Too much at the beginning forces the reed to the top of the pallet, thereby inhibiting its ability to vibrate.

22-Jul-15
For starters, I would avoid the triple reeds. Tougher to learn on IMHO.

In the KISS category, I would throw the Mellow Yellow or Primos Ivory Palate. You won't sound like the baddest bull, but you will like a bull.

But everyone is different. You might need to try a few before you find one you like.

As far as CD's, I know ELKNUT has one, but I don't have it. I think Primos has one also. Once you handle the basics, I like ELKNUTS "Sounds of the Elk" as he has actual recordings and you can work on imitating those sounds (Once you don't sound like a dying cat!)

22-Jul-15
I suggest the Primos Palate Plate single reed for beginners...the Ivory one. The black single reed they make is not so great.

It's so incredibly easy to use it seems unlikely to me that anybody would have trouble with it. Sounds really good too.

22-Jul-15