hobbes 17-Aug-15
cnelk 17-Aug-15
bigbulls6 17-Aug-15
elkmtngear 17-Aug-15
OFFHNTN 18-Aug-15
Chasewild 18-Aug-15
longbeard 19-Aug-15
13-Aug-15
This is the story of my 2014 solo archery elk hunt, in Colorado’s Flat Tops Wilderness.

If you are a trophy hunter, you will not be impressed with my story; I have always been, and always will be a meat hunter. My Family was raised on elk and venison, and we have come to depend on the harvest over the years. I left Northern California on September 12th with one purpose in mind: killing the first legal elk I could get in bow range.

I had been blessed by my 15 year old Son, with a lovely virus that had become apparent the night before my arrival, my throat felt like it had been freshly sandpapered! This was going to make things interesting… such great timing!

The area I have been hunting for many years now, consists of one main access road running North/South on top of the mountain (10,500 feet elevation), which spurs off to several trailheads on both the East and West sides of the road. My first and foremost plan was to set up a base camp on the East rim, with a “backup plan” of camping at a larger trailhead on the West rim.

13-Aug-15
Elk meat is good:) Let's get er going!

13-Aug-15
OK, I'm ready.

13-Aug-15

elkmtngear's Link
Day One

I arrived to find wall tent camps at both trailheads (grrrr)! In Colorado, they run a week of muzzleloader hunts during the regular archery season…and I was arriving on day one of muzzy season. There was another trailhead in between the two, on the West side, leading to an area I call “Rodent’s Hole”. This is where I decided to make my base camp.

camp photo camp_zps94465bfa.jpg

I quickly set up camp, prepared and organized everything I needed for the following day’s hunt, and decided to hunt the evening down in Rodent’s hole, just to get a “feel” for the area’s activity before I went in hard the next morning.

photo sideatrail_zpsbba10ba1.jpg