Brun 27-Oct-15
Brun 27-Oct-15
Brun 27-Oct-15
Brun 27-Oct-15
loopmtz 27-Oct-15
WV Mountaineer 27-Oct-15
hunt'n addict 27-Oct-15
24-Oct-15
The following will be an attempt to provide a small payback for some of the entertaining and educational stories I have read here the last few years. I have never attempted this before and I'm sure both my storytelling and photography skills are well beneath the standards set by others before me. I will try to provide a look into two hunts from this year, very different from each other in terms of approach and preparation, and maybe provide a glimpse of the fickle and unpredictable nature of our pastime.

24-Oct-15

Brun's embedded Photo
Brun's embedded Photo
Like many others on this site I have been collecting points in Colorado for many years. I have been looking, like everyone else, at the northwest corner of the state. I have also lately become more interested in unit 61. When a friend of mine drew 61 this year I decided to learn as much as I could about the area and join him on his hunt to hopefully help him on his hunt and experience the place during an actual hunt as opposed to scouting. The first trip I took was actually a turkey hunt before he drew. This is a picture from that trip this spring.

24-Oct-15

Brun's embedded Photo
Brun's embedded Photo
I didn't kill a turkey, but came close, had a great time and learned part of the unit. 61 is known for a lot of bears and I ran into this guy at about 10 yards one day. I also got a look at this little guy, a fledgling Northern Saw-whet Owl if i'm reading my book correctly.

24-Oct-15

Brun's embedded Photo
Brun's embedded Photo
Here is the owl.

24-Oct-15

Brun's embedded Photo
Brun's embedded Photo
My next trip was a family camp out in a different part of the unit. I liked this area a lot and decided to put out a trail camera at a water hole I found near our campsite. This is a picture of my son and daughter from that trip.

24-Oct-15