ElkNut1 28-Oct-15
TD 29-Oct-15
BULELK1 29-Oct-15
ElkNut1 29-Oct-15
TD 29-Oct-15
28-Oct-15

standswittaknife's embedded Photo
standswittaknife's embedded Photo
Just thought I would give a quick review of the Exo Mountain Gear 5500. I'm a rookie and do not own other high end packs, so I cannot comment on which one is better or worse. That being said, this was the firs year bivy hunting and had a blast. We ended up killing three six point bulls (two archery and one 1st season Rifle) The archery bulls were amazing and am hoping to write an article on that hunt (I'm not a writer but I'll try one time because the story is incredible) the third was a nice bull my buddy killed during rifle season.

I ended up using my Exo Mountain pack with the meat shelf to haul out two loads of elk. It was my buddies elk, so he had the luxury of hauling the horns, but I hauled my day hunt gear as well as a front shoulder, chuck meat, and backstrap in my first load. We turned right around and got the second load with obviously consisted of the hinds.

I cannot say enough good things about this pack to get meat out. I'm a little anal (I'm a CPA so cannot help it) so I carry a trash bag and was able to keep all the blood off the surface of the pack. The meat carried incredibly well. We decided to haul the meat out bone in, therefore it was heavier, but honestly easier imho because its so much more uniform to carry.

The meat loaded great in pack, the internal meat shelf worked flawlessly, and the additional straps between the frame and pack cinched the meat down perfectly.

I have no affiliation with Exo but after a lot of reviews chose the pack. Not one regret.. Steve and his partners have done great designing the pack and their customer service has been incredible.