Breaker 16-Jan-16
Barrera 16-Jan-16
earlyriser 16-Jan-16
bowhunter 18-Jan-16
bowhunter 18-Jan-16
Shaft2Long 18-Jan-16
HDE 18-Jan-16
13-Jan-16
I am new to hunting and just not sure where I should make my choices. I am going for archery tags so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

13-Jan-16
There's a lot of nice units here. Gila units seem to be the most sought after. I recommend reading harvest reports that are available and looking at the data. Check topo maps as well. Some areas are harder to hunt due to terrain and altitude. Other areas are harder to hunt do to lack of animals. Either way it's fun hard work! Do your research, practice practice practice, be in mountain shape, and you'll be just fine. There's a nm forum in the region menu. You can pm me if you have questions. Good luck.

13-Jan-16
Lots of elk in northern NM. 50-53, 6. 34&36 can be really good

13-Jan-16
If you are looking for trophy bulls, the Gila, 15, 16A or D. If you want a little better chance of drawing, but still plenty of elk (though far fewer trophy class), then 51 or 52 up north.

There are lots of other great units, but the units above have lots of public land, are easily accessible, not too extreme in terrain, and one should be able to locate elk with the least amount of effort. Even without physical scouting and just doing some cyber scouting, you should be able to find elk within about a day or so of starting your hunt.

Best of luck,

13-Jan-16
Just look at the odds. 15, most 16's, 34, 36, 52 is easier to draw a good for a beginner, Valle Vidal.

You get 3 choices.

13-Jan-16
Odds for the Gila units, 34,36 are low single digit last I checked...and VV is a super long shot.

Good hunts if you draw...but don't hold your breath- grin

13-Jan-16
So the real question is... are there ANY units in NM which hold elk that have good odds??? Didn't think so.-Grin-

13-Jan-16