Striker@home 15-Jul-16
BULELK1 16-Jul-16
Shrewski 17-Jul-16
cityhunter 17-Jul-16
Hessticles 21-Jul-16
Norseman 28-Jul-16
15-Jul-16
Hi all,

I'm hoping for some information from anyone who has hunted any of these units in the past. I am a Wyoming resident so wilderness is not an issue. I am also a school teacher, though, so limited time is an issue, especially since I have a 6 hour drive just to get to the areas.

I'm in good shape and have archery killed many elk over the years. I know some of unit 67 because I've scouted sheep unit 5 extensively over the years. I am familiar, then, with the Wiggins Fork, Caldwell Creek, and Bear Creek from the Wood River side--I've come in out of Kirwin and dropped into Caldwell Creek and hiked back out over Bear Creek Pass. I've looked down the Wiggins Fork from Burwell Pass. I've also vacationed at Brooks Lake, so I have a slight knowledge of the western portion of the unit as well.

Sooooo, here's my dilemma. I am recovering (remarkably well) from hip labral reconstructive surgery 5.5 months ago. I am back to walking 8 miles a day without weight but am not sure how well I'll be able to carry large weight long distances by September. I'm also very limited by time--obviously I won't be shooting a bull 4 miles deep on Sunday afternoon when having to be back in the classroom 6 hours away Monday morning.

I'll be hunting solo and am aware of the grizzly issue. I've encountered them many times while scouting sheep unit 5 and am aware of the risks.