Elkaddict 21-Jul-16
elkmtngear 21-Jul-16
Backpack Hunter 21-Jul-16
idacurt 21-Jul-16
Z Barebow 21-Jul-16
MF 21-Jul-16
oldgoat 21-Jul-16
15-Jul-16
I'm new to the big country hunting in Colorado and am starting to plan my meals and snacks for the nights away from base camp. What are your go to meals while deep in the woods?

15-Jul-16
Peanut butter, honey, banana sandwiches are the answer to your prayers.

Besides that, Mountain house and oatmeal packets.

Dried fruit, jerky and nuts for snacks.

15-Jul-16
I usually have cliff bars, jerky, trail mix, and other various snacks. I usually have two packets of oatmeal in the morning when I get up plus a hot beverage. My big meal is usually mountain house. I've tried others but prefer them.

15-Jul-16
Mountain House, the other usual stuff listed above, dried mangoes for some fruit, and peanut butter-honey-bacon tortillas. I carry the honey separately in a little squeeze bottle to keep the rest from turning to goo.

My breakfast is a Power bar, granola bar, and high fiber brownie. I like coffee in the am so I carry a little plastic French press coffee mug and some coarse grounds and it steeps while I'm getting dressed.

I make my own trail mix in bulk from MMs, peanuts, cashews, craisins, raisins, and dried pineapple chunks.

15-Jul-16

snapcrackpop's Link
No elk hunting for me, yet. But camping & hiking...

Mountain House + water packed chicken or dehydrated hamburger.

Instant potatoes.

Tortilla pizza with boboli sauce, string cheese & pepperoni. (Cover with tinfoil when baking/grilling.)

Www.bwca.Com => forums => camping recipes

15-Jul-16
"Peanut butter, honey, banana sandwiches are the answer to your prayers."

Ever since this showed up in eastmans like umpteen years ago, it's the first thing that shows up and the last thing that should pack unless you want to spend a few hours hugging a tree every other day....