TD 27-Aug-16
Scrappy 27-Aug-16
Beendare 27-Aug-16
brunse 28-Aug-16
Rick M 28-Aug-16
WV Mountaineer 28-Aug-16
25-Aug-16
I'll be going in by horseback.

Does the scent of a horse help, hinder or doesn't matter while elk hunting?

Should I wear separate non hunting clothes for the ride in?

25-Aug-16
I'll be going in by horseback.

Does the scent of a horse help, hinder or doesn't matter while elk hunting?

Should I wear separate non hunting clothes for the ride in?

25-Aug-16
Ozonics lashed to the saddle will take care of it

25-Aug-16
Bou don't lie to him. What you have to do is put your ozonics on a trekking pole attached to the saddle. So the magic fairy dust can rain down over you and the horse at the same time.

25-Aug-16
I'm no expert, but my guess is if they smell the horse smell on your clothes, they already smell you in them.

25-Aug-16
I am curious to see what the experts say on this one , but I'm guessing it would be better to smell like horse than a human .

25-Aug-16
Makes no difference. If they wind you it's over. I would not bother with "riding" clothes. After the first morning hike everything you are wearing will smell like you anyway.

25-Aug-16
Its been my experience that elk will hear your horse walking thru the timber and stay put and watch you ride by, thinking its another elk.

Ride in wearing comfortable clothes, elk dont care. Good chance they have seen cowboys riding thru the timber looking for cattle.

Dont over-think it

25-Aug-16
Back in the day elk would watch us pack out meat as we were outta tags

photo packingpics0002-1.jpg

25-Aug-16
Bring your scent killer in your saddle bags and elk scent, cover up after you get off the horse. We ride all the time year round and the elk a lot of the time just look at you. Pulse the horses are a pulse, put a set of saddle panniers in your saddle bags along with game bags, saves a ton of time.

25-Aug-16