kellyharris 25-Sep-15
kellyharris 25-Sep-15
Charlie Rehor 26-Sep-15
kentuckbowhnter 01-Oct-15
Fuzzy 02-Oct-15
deerman406 02-Oct-15
DonVathome 02-Oct-15
12-Sep-09
Alright, this may sound totally whacked out, but here goes. You're hunting mulies for meat in late December, pass on the small buck, but are able to put the stalk a nice doe....good size, only to find she was prego when you field dress her. Has anyone ever heard of or thought about or done a fetus mulie mount? Seriously, I'm a complete newbie and pardon my ignorance, but I think this would be a unique and interesting mount. I know there are serious moral issues here, but what if this happened to you? One could either leave the fetus for the yoties or do it some sort of justice by the preservation of a mount. Please let me know what you think, I know this is a strange question.........just, what if?

12-Sep-09
I imagine that in December the fetus would be very small, probably smaller than your thumb, and not very much to mount, and not very pretty for most people to want to look at.

I have taken a Whitetail Doe on a kill permit in March with twin fawns, and even then they were less in size than a subway sandwich and their skin was still kinda translucent. Not anything I would want mounted, but maybe a biologist would want it in a jar of formaldehyde (sp).

Tony

12-Sep-09
I have deer fetuses in preservative in my classroom...I would not want to display them in my house!

I also have the kids dissect fetal pigs...the skin is so thin and weak that I am sure that sewing and mounting the skin would be an impossibility.

12-Sep-09
i thought the fetus came AFTER the mounting?

12-Sep-09
Thats pretty good Bou. Good to start a Saturday morning with a laugh!

12-Sep-09
I'm a pretty crusty old veteran but that right there is downright disgusting.

12-Sep-09
In a jar with preservative would be the best way I think. Formalin is used more than formaldehyde now due to health issues. Rubbing alcohol works in a pinch too.