BOHNTR 15-Sep-14
Nick Muche 16-Sep-14
1stYearHunter 16-Sep-14
1stYearHunter 16-Sep-14
greg simon 16-Sep-14
gogittem 17-Sep-14
idahoghost 17-Sep-14
15-Sep-14
Hi guys, this is my first year bowhunting and live in southern CA. The only local bowhunting area near me is an inland desert/chaparral/mountain biome and I am having trouble developing a strategy to find bucks in this type of environment. The mountains are vast, very rocky, and mostly covered in sage scrub that is extremely dense. There are also pockets of pine forests with very limited grassy meadows/openings interspersed in these areas. The locals have not been helpful at all, so as a newbie I'm having a very difficult time trying to figure out how to locate and pattern bucks in this type of land. Trying to glass from a high spot proves pretty impossible because the cover is so thick and there are few openings to see deer. Trying to walk the land is impossible because again, the cover is so thick and noisy you get nowhere fast. My only luck actually kicking up bedded does has been walking through some of these more pine foresty areas with small open meadows, but again, the deer hear me way before I see them so sneaking up on them with a bow has been extremely difficult. I'm trying to figure out some strategy generalities like: will the bucks be way high in the mountains, or low in the valleys? Will they frequent the grassy openings and pine trees or mostly be in the dense sage/scrub oak thicks? Do I bother hunting during the heat of the day or only early AM and late PM? Should I just try to glass from a high point and focus on the meadows to locate a buck? If anyone have any experience hunting in this type of environment, I would greatly, greatly appreciate any tips.

15-Sep-14
Hunt the water.

15-Sep-14