Contributors to this thread:
TheRattler 21-Sep-16
Scrappy 21-Sep-16
tkjwonta 22-Sep-16
Treeline 27-Sep-16
DonVathome 01-Oct-16
Treeline 03-Oct-16
21-Sep-16
I am looking at trying to do a mule deer archery hunt in Wyoming. I am completely new to this out of state non resident hunting and high country hunting in general. I have hunted mule deer but never in the mountains like this would be.

My first question is if someone would be willing to help a guy out in exchange for some hunting/fishing here in South Dakota.

I am not a spring chicken but still young enough to wait a few years and apply for preference points for a better unit.

Basically I am looking for a hunting buddy to help me out. THanks guys!

21-Sep-16
I think you can still buy preference point for Wyoming this month. That would be your first step.

22-Sep-16
I haven't hunted Wyoming yet, but I've been saving up and hope to cash my 7 points in next year.

One thing to consider is that Wyoming doesn't have many (maybe not any?) mule deer tags that are only good for archery. In most cases you need to draw an any weapon tag and then for a small extra fee you can hunt the archery season, which comes before the rifle season (usually the special archery season is in September). Because of this it makes it relatively difficult to draw a tag since you are competing with all the rifle hunters.

Wyoming also has both general and limited quota tags. The general consensus recently is that the general region G and region H tags are at least as good as the limited quota tags if you are looking purely for size. The limited quota tags will offer less hunting pressure, but may not have the quality or quantity of region G and H.

Currently the region H tag can be had for 2 to 3 points, while the region G tag will take 5-6. As scrappy mentioned, you can still buy a preference point this year through the end of October, such that you could potentially pull a region H tag by 2018 or so.