patdel 09-Jul-14
>>>--arrow1--> 09-Jul-14
Cheesehead Mike 09-Jul-14
'Ike' (Phone) 09-Jul-14
brunse 09-Jul-14
20-Jul-11

jeck66's embedded Photo
jeck66's embedded Photo
Can't wait for upcoming hunt, so I thought I would post this question to kill some time. I am new to elk hunting. Does the outline look like that would be the kill zone of a broadside elk?

What would you say the approximate dimensions of the vitals on a decent sized bull elk are?

I put the dot where I would think the best aiming spot would be. What are your guys' thoughts?

20-Jul-11

Jaquomo_feral's embedded Photo
Jaquomo_feral's embedded Photo
I aim 4-5" lower and to the right a little, at the bunched muscle. Your aimpoint doesn't leave much margin for error

There have been a ton of great threads on this, with diagrams, cutaways, etc.. Do a search and you'll find more than you'll ever need for reference.

20-Jul-11
Search the Forums - there are a Ton of threads and information out there. BB provides some great insight into shot placement.

I'd aim right where Jaquomo says also.

20-Jul-11
My aimpoint would be exactly between your dot and High Country's star...

20-Jul-11

elkmtngear's Link
Here is just one of the many long threads on this (see link)

20-Jul-11
Excellent. Looks like I would have been off a little. Thanks for the info.

The link looks real good. Thanks

20-Jul-11
He's actually quartered away a bit. I like the elevation of the star with the windage of the dot.

20-Jul-11

hobbes's embedded Photo
hobbes's embedded Photo
Your aimpoint definitely kills the elk. I don't like High Country's aim point because it is on the back edge of the bone. It will put him down in seconds but there is no room for error forward. I think your lower left corner is too far back that low. I've drawn in a fair representation of the bone structure and what I believe to be the outline of your kill zone. The cross is where I aim on broadside animals. I prefer some room for error in all directions.