Mathews Inc.
Practice...........................HOW?!
Bowfishing
Contributors to this thread:
Rut Nut 09-Jul-14
GhostBird 09-Jul-14
Nick Muche 09-Jul-14
Shug 09-Jul-14
wheels 09-Jul-14
Clutch 09-Jul-14
drycreek 09-Jul-14
Butternut40 09-Jul-14
Rut Nut 09-Jul-14
Clutch 09-Jul-14
Clutch 09-Jul-14
Nick Muche 10-Jul-14
rooster 10-Jul-14
Rut Nut 10-Jul-14
trkyslr 10-Jul-14
Bake 10-Jul-14
longbeard 10-Jul-14
Shug 10-Jul-14
Rut Nut 10-Jul-14
Bowfreak 10-Jul-14
Mac 10-Jul-14
Shug 10-Jul-14
longbeard 10-Jul-14
Shug 10-Jul-14
Clutch 10-Jul-14
Rut Nut 10-Jul-14
09-Jul-14
I am new to bowfishing and just wondered how everyone practices? I mean other than just shooting a bunch of arrows at fish. Is there a good way to practice in your back yard at a target or at a pond or lake nearby?

09-Jul-14
I saw a gar target somewhere... can't remember.

I have taken a piece of foam and cut it roughly into the shape of a carp, attached an anchor to the bottom of it with a haul rope attached to the anchor. Threw it out into the lake at various distances/depths. The haul rope allows you to retreive it without getting wet.

Just remember to aim low. Of course the best practice is to just shoot a bunch of fish.

09-Jul-14
Just aim low.

09-Jul-14

Shug's embedded Photo
Shug's embedded Photo
Fill a jug that has a handle with rocks (gallon of milk). ...slip a rope thru the handle. and tie a small block of foam to a rope. Raise and lower the foam with the rope.

09-Jul-14
Very difficult to shoot under a fish, if you think you are aiming too low, you are probably aiming in the right spot.

09-Jul-14

Clutch's MOBILE embedded Photo

Aim low-- hard to believe I could have missed one bigger then this one but I did--shot over the back -- the fish was 1'.6" below the surface of the water--

09-Jul-14
Clutch, that's a big minnow !

09-Jul-14
Clutch, looks like some good jerky in that thing.

09-Jul-14