Charlie Rehor 01-Aug-14
2rope2 02-Aug-14
WapitiBob 03-Aug-14
ProAlpine 03-Aug-14
SmoothieJonez 03-Aug-14
Ranger44 03-Aug-14
ProAlpine 03-Aug-14
29-Jul-14
I edited the first thread I started, sorry guys I am new to site and working out kinks . Somehow ended up being debate free and not what I intended to do. I tried to delete it and could not figure out how.

Now what I initially was asking was for some help on what other people use when scouting new areas. I purchased the new premium version of onxmaps sd card for my Oregon 450t and works great. I also have app for iPad from them as well. Problem is the app has a bug and right now you can't transfer waypoints to your GPS or desktop from the app.

So I really wanted to know if others had success with myopo.com and or the usgs web site. I have spent the last week and half studying on which map to buy and I still don't have a good paper map. I must be making this harder than what it actually is.

30-Jul-14

SmoothieJonez's Link
Scoutlookweather.com is a free app I have been using for the past few years that works fantastic and inter-phases smartphone with your computer and vice versa. The scentcone feature is worthy as is the deer log and solunar forcast times. It doesn't have topography or gps weigh points, but its a very useful app.

Attached supporting link.

30-Jul-14
Some areas of Google Earth have been updated this year and based on time of year you can actually visualize trails in open canopy areas,really good resolution

30-Jul-14
I think Google Earth sucks...everything is with foliage

Bing maps...."Birdseye view". Lots of pics with foliage down...rotate map to alter pics which alters shadows etc...

There are areas not in the system with the Birdeye feature but when they are it's the best image I've found

30-Jul-14
Thanks guys for the help and input. I just can't find the right paper maps.

01-Aug-14
I bought a few maps from mytopo.com. They are good and durable. A pain to walk around with though.

01-Aug-14